Breaking news!

An explosive anomaly lights up Southern Hemisphere Galaxy NGC 1566. On the the evening of September 18th from North America, Slooh will broadcast live views of this bright type II supernova candidate from Slooh Observatory at the Pontificia Universidad Católica De Chile (PUC).

Thursday, September 18th
Starts: 9:00 PM PDT / 12:00 AM EDT (9/19) / 04:00 UTC (9/19)
International times here: goo.gl/ogI4Mg
Watch live on Slooh.com or on our Livestream tab on Facebook

This brilliant spot of light appears close to the central bulge of the galaxy, and was discovered just a week ago by the All Sky Automated Survey for SuperNovae, or ASASSN (assassin), which gives this supernova candidate the killer moniker of ASASSN-14ha. A fitting name for such an explosively destructive object! #SloohAssassin

Says Berman, “Supernovae are the most violent events in the universe. And among the most useful, since their brightness can help pin down the distance to their parent galaxy. In this case, a rather violent and gorgeous spiral galaxy that’s not too terribly far away has just had a star explode not in its spiral arms, which is the usual neighborhood for such cataclysms, but almost smack at the core. This combination of extreme conditions and odd circumstances makes it a riveting and worthy event for SLOOH’s real-time monitoring. This should be an exciting broadcast.”

Broadcast Details:

Start time:Thursday, September 18th at 9:00 PM PDT / 12:00 AM EDT (9/19) / 04:00 UTC (9/19)

Link: www.slooh.com

Hashtag: #SloohAssassin

If you are like me and enjoy every opportunity to be awed at the majesty of our universe…..CHECK THIS OUT TONIGHT!!!! 

It's only fair to share...Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestShare on Google+Email this to someone